Books, Waiting On Wednesday, YA

“Waiting On” Wednesdays: The Long Game

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


Continue reading ““Waiting On” Wednesdays: The Long Game”

Books, Waiting On Wednesday, YA

“Waiting On” Wednesdays: The Wrong Side of Right

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

Hardcover, 400 pages
Publication Date: Mar. 17th, 2015
Publisher: Dial Books
ISBN: 9780803740570
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

 

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

There is so much about this book that intrigues me. First is the whole concept, it’s definitely one that’s new, and appealing. Second, it’s teens and politics. I think this sounds like a great story that will (hopefully) get a new generation interested in civic involvement, or at the very least, talking about their own ideas and where they stand on the issues that it seems might get discussed in this book. I like that Kate seems to have her own opinions and ideas that might not track with her new family, and I’m really curious to see how she handles that. Add a dash of romance, and I’m sure I’ll be hooked. I can’t wait to check it out!

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***

Education, Politics, Society

Students Confronting Campus Rape

rollingstone:

Confronting campus rape: A growing wave of grassroots activists is forcing universities to take a stronger stand against sexual abuse – and now the Obama administration is joining the fight.

 

Books, Children's Literature, Education, Libraries, Politics, Society, YA

We Need Diverse Books!

weneeddiversebooks:

“#WeNeedDiverseBooks because

a homogenous world is a

boring

uncreative

unfulfilling

worthless

dangerous world.”

Submitted by Shae/Shelver.